top of page

Change is good!

I don't know why, but I'm a happier more productive person when I have change going on in my life. One thing I haven't been able to change for a long time is my place of residence. Everyone who knows me has heard me voice on numerous occasions how much I've been feeling called to move to somewhere totally new. I'm from California but was transplanted to the Midwest when I was 12 years old. It's been good to me. I have wonderful friends here. My church and most of my family is here. It's safe, and affordable. Everyone is friendly and everyone knows everyone. I feel guilty for not being content with that. I really hope it truly is a calling, to do more and be more for God and my fellow man, and not just me being selfish.


The cool thing is I finally have an opportunity to move. I'll be moving to Tampa for 7-12 months with my daughter while she is attending University of Tampa. My husband will stay and keep things going here. He has a great job and likes it here and is a lot more unsure about moving. We decided this would be a great way to test the waters without giving up what we have here. I'm blessed he is on board with this. It will be good for us. I really think the change will do him a lot good too...if we decide that's what we both want after this trial period. He just needs to approach it more carefully. And if I get there and see it was a really bad idea we still have our home in Joplin. I love it that I'm able to support my daughter and make this move easier for her while making a change for myself.


It's because of all this change I'm a little late posting here. I was in Tampa for a few days touring the campus and the area. And since I've gotten back I've been scouring the internet for rentals and jobs for my daughter and me.I did get another video done though. There's still a lot of room for improvement, but this one is definitely better than the last. We kept it simple, invaded Mike's home office, and recorded 3 songs on his phone. I decided we would go unplugged and just do originals. I'm pretty sure putting cover songs on YouTube without proper licensing is not cool. I need to get all that figured out before I do anymore of that. Anyway, this video was for the July "First Thursday Artwalk" in Joplin. It's still being done virtually because of Covid 19, so videos are the only way to participate.


I know this was short but I plan on posting again soon. Until then, I recommend changing things up in your life. Especially if you're feeling stuck, non-creative, or things just aren't working. Even if you're just really comfortable...maybe too comfortable. I already feel so much more alive and full of energy just starting the process of moving. Again, just sharing.... hoping it inspires or helps someone out there.



81 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page